APSA Committees

APSA Committees carry out a number of different critical functions for the association. To learn more about a specific committee, click on the name below. APSA members who are logged onto the site will also see committee chair contact information.

Learn how to serve on an APSA committee.


APSA Members
Log in to view email addresses for all committee members.
The mission of the Trauma Committee is to improve child health by promoting injury prevention, developing and implementing practice guidelines for the care of the injured child and performing research that will lead to reduced morbidity and mortality after injury.

Trauma Committee Literature Reviews

This bi-annual review provides trauma related content pertinent to pediatric surgeons. The selections are compiled by members of the Trauma Committee, but as a group, they are not endorsing the results of these studies as definitive practice. Continuing medical education maintenance of certification self-assessment credit for the literature reviews is available through APSA's ExPERT CME Program. View the Trauma Committee Literature Reviews.

Statement on Firearm Injuries and Children

Approved by the APSA Board of Governors and Membership - May 4, 2013. Read the statement.



Peter W. Dillon - Liaison
Penn State Health, Milton S. Hershey Med. Ctr., Penn State College of Medicine
John K. Petty - Chair
Brenner Children's Hospital/Wake Forest Univ School of Med.
Jeffrey S. Upperman - Vice Chair
Childrens Hosp Los Angeles
Reto M. Baertschiger - Member
Children's Hospital at Dartmouth (CHaD)
Amina M. Bhatia - Member
Atlanta Pediatric Surgery, PC
Emily R. Christison-Lagay - Member
Yale School of Med
Vincent P. Duron - Member
Mauricio A. Escobar - Member
Mary Bridge Children's Hospital/Ped Surg
David L. Gibbs - Member
Children's Hospital of Orange County
Yosef J. Greenspon - Member
SSM Cardinal Glennon Children's Medical Center
Harsh Grewal - Member
St. Christopher's Hospital for Children
Brian Gulack - Member
The Hospital for Sick Children
Mubeen Jafri - Member
Oregon Health & Science University
Aaron R. Jensen - Member
Children's Hospital Los Angeles
Stephanie A. Jones - Member
University of Nevada Las Vegas
Alfred P. Kennedy - Member
Janet Weis Children's Hosp
Denise B. Klinkner - Member
Mayo Clinic
Ann M. Kulungowski - Member
Children's Hospital Colorado
Shannon W. Longshore - Member
ECU School of Medicine
Jessica A. Naiditch - Member
Mitchell R. Price - Member
Staten Island University Hospital - North Shore/Long Island Jewish Health System
Carmen T. Ramos - Member
KIDZ Medical
Robert T. Russell - Member
Children's Hospital of Alabama
Kennith Sartorelli - Member
Univ of Vermont
Anthony Stallion - Member
Beaumont Children's Hospital
Jacob T. Stephenson - Member
University of California Davis
Adam M. Vogel - Member
Texas Children's Hospital
Kim Wallenstein - Member
Regan F. Williams - Member
LeBonheur Children's Hospital
Hale E. Wills - Member
Hasbro Children's Hospital