APSA Committees

APSA Committees carry out a number of different critical functions for the association. To learn more about a specific committee, click on the name below. APSA members who are logged onto the site will also see committee chair contact information.

Learn how to serve on an APSA committee.

Fetal Diagnosis and Treatment

APSA Members
Log in to view email addresses for all committee members.
The mission of the Fetal Diagnosis and Therapy Committee is to help educate pediatric surgeons and their trainees in the area of fetal medicine. Further, the committee will collaborate with other organizations to help establish best practices for fetal therapy.

Prenatal Counseling Series

This new resource is developed as a quick reference for pediatric surgeons. Check back for new topics.

Fetal Diagnosis and Therapy: a Reference Handbook for Pediatric Surgeons 

This handbook is a ready reference that provides concise information about some of the more common fetal anomalies relevant to the pediatric surgeon. As the field is rapidly evolving, the contents of this handbook reflect the current knowledge and practice. As newer diagnostic capabilities and treatment modalities are discovered, this handbook will be updated as needed. This handbook will serve as a quick reference for the pediatric surgeon about to counsel a patient and a useful educational tool for the
residents and fellows in training. View the handbook.

Fetal Diagnosis & Treatment Committee Literature Reviews

The Fetal Diagnosis & Treatment Committee prepares regular literature reviews for APSA members which provide an overview of recent fetal research pertinent to all pediatric surgeons. The selections are compiled by members of the Fetal Diagnosis & Treatment Committee, but as a group, they are not endorsing the results of these studies as definitive practice. View the Fetal Diagnosis & Treatment Committee Literature Reviews.



Max R. Langham - Liaison
University of Tennessee Health Science Center
Raphael Sun - Friend of Committee
Baylor College of Medicine -Texas Children's Hospital
Shinjiro Hirose - Chair
UC Davis
Rony Marwan - Vice Chair
Children's Hospital Colorado
Fuad Alkhoury - Member
Miami Children's Hospital
Brian W. Gray - Member
Riley Hospital for Children
Eric B. Jelin - Member
Johns Hopkins Children's Center
Amanda Jensen - Member
Sundeep G. Keswani - Member
Texas Children's Hospital
Mitchell R. Ladd - Member
Johns Hopkins Hospital
Oluyinka O. Olutoye - Member
Baylor College of Medicine
Erin E. Perrone - Member
The University of Michigan
David T. Schindel - Member
Avraham Schlager - Member
Akron's Children Hospital
Charles J. Smithers - Member
Boston Children's Hospital
Shaun A. Steigman - Member
Weill Cornell Medical Center
David Stitelman - Member
Yale-New Haven Hospital
Jesse Vrecenak - Member
Washington University in St. Louis