APSA Committees

APSA Committees carry out a number of different critical functions for the association. To learn more about a specific committee, click on the name below. APSA members who are logged onto the site will also see committee chair contact information.

Learn how to serve on an APSA committee.


APSA Members
Log in to view email addresses for all committee members.
Vision: a declaration of mid- or long-term goals. The Ethics Committee will provide education for our colleagues and trainees on a variety of ethical issues in pediatric surgery practice. Mission: statement of purpose. The Ethics Committee provides education that is relevant to the active practice of pediatric surgery. We specifically aim to address issues that residents and fellows may find challenging, as well as ethical issues that confront pediatric surgeons who have completed training. We provide resources for resolution of ethical dilemmas, and a forum for discussion of particular cases.

Ethics Position Statement

Approved by the APSA Board of Governors - October 23, 2011. Read the statement.

Ethics Committee Literature Reviews

The Ethics Committee prepares regular literature reviews for APSA members which provide an overview of recent ethics research pertinent to all pediatric surgeons. The selections are compiled by members of the Ethics Committee, but as a group, they are not endorsing the results of these studies as definitive practice. View the Ethics Committee Literature Reviews.



Henri R. Ford - Liaison
University of Miami Leonard M. Miller School of Medicine
Deborah S. Loeff - Chair
Univ of Chicago
Patrick J. Javid - Vice Chair
Seattle Children's Hospital
Begum Akay - Member
Beaumont Children's Hospital
Carlos A. Angel - Member
East TN Pediatric Surgery Group
Charles E. Bagwell - Member
Med College of VA
Elizabeth A. Berdan - Member
Mary Bridge Children's Hospital
Erica M. Carlisle - Member
University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics
Kaveer Chatoorgoon - Member
Cardinal Glennon Children's Hospital
Kristine S. Corkum - Member
Lurie Childrens Hospital
Eric Grossman - Member
Levine Children's Hospital
Catherine J. Hunter - Member
Lurie Children's Hospital of Chicago
Sidney Johnson - Member
Kapiolani Med Specialists
Sarah A. Jones Sapienza - Member
Lehigh Valley Physician's Group- Pediatric Surgical Specialties
William Middlesworth - Member
MorganStanley Children's Hosp of NY-Presbyterian
Claudia M. Mueller - Member
Stanford University
Konstantinos Papadakis - Member
Children's Hospital Boston
Elliot C. Pennington - Member
Pediatric Surgeons of West Michigan
Mindy B. Statter - Member
The Children's Hospital at Montefiore
Veronica F. Sullins - Member
University of California Los Angeles Medical Center