APSA Committees

APSA Committees carry out a number of different critical functions for the association. To learn more about a specific committee, click on the name below. APSA members who are logged onto the site will also see committee chair contact information.

Learn how to serve on an APSA committee.

Education Committee

APSA Members
Log in to view email addresses for all committee members.
The mission of the APSA Education Committee is to enhance the surgical care of children and actively promote patient safety by maintaining a wide array of educational programs that address the needs of practicing pediatric surgeons, surgery residents, medical students, surgical patients, and the public. The Education Committee will support the professional development of pediatric surgeons at all stages of their careers to ensure optimal care of patients and their families, to promote excellence in the field, and to foster a vibrant and viable community of pediatric surgeons. Educational programming includes a range of activities, including continuing medical education (CME) activities, symposia at national meetings, self-assessment tools, and various educational materials in print and electronic forms. As part of the educational process, this committee will comprehensively evaluate the impact of educational activities on physicians' practices and patient outcomes through a process of continuous quality improvement.

STEPS Toolbox Educational Resource

The APSA Education Committee has designed the Standardized Toolbox of Education for Pediatric Surgery (STEPS), PowerPoint web-based teaching tools to serve as a resource for faculty and senior residents to use for teaching medical students and junior residents. View the STEPS materials for: abdominal masses of childhood, abdominal wall defects, appendicitis, esophageal atresias and tracheo esophageal fistulas, hernias, imperforate anus, intestinal atresia and necrotizing enterocolitis.


Joseph P. Vacanti - Liaison
Massachusetts General Hospital
Steven L. Lee - Chair
Harbor-UCLA Medical Center
Eunice Y. Huang - Vice Chair
Univ of Tenneessee Health Science Center
Matias Bruzoni - Member
Lucile Packard Children's at Stanford
Brian A. Coakley - Member
The Mount Sinai Health System
Paul D. Danielson - Member
Johns Hopkins All Childrens Hospital
Diana L. Diesen - Member
Dallas Children's Hopsital
Sherif G. Emil - Member
Montreal Children's Hosp
Erica M. Fallon - Member
Shinjiro Hirose - Member
UC Davis
Laura E. Hollinger - Member
MUSC Children's Health
Romeo C. Ignacio - Member
Brian A. Jones - Member
Comer Children's Hospital
Andrea Y. Lo - Member
Harold N. Lovvorn - Member
Vanderbilt Univ Med Ctr Children's Hosp
Grace Z. Mak - Member
Univ of Chicago Comer Children's Hospital
Jonathan A. Meisel - Member
Children's at Egleston
Demetri J. Merianos - Member
Weill Cornell Medical Center
Holly L. Neville - Member
Univ of Miami/Pediatric Surgery
Hannah G. Piper - Member
British Columbia Children's Hospital
Pramod S. Puligandla - Member
Montreal Children's Hospital
Daniel M. Relles - Member
Lehigh Valley Children's Hospital
Julia S. Shelton - Member
University of Iowa
Cathy E. Shin - Member
Children's Hospital Los Angeles
Eveline Shue - Member
University of California San Francisco
Janice A. Taylor - Member
Univ of Florida
Christopher G. Turner - Member
Maine Medical Partners
Robert L. Weinsheimer - Member
Swedish Hospital
Jill S. Whitehouse - Member
Joe DiMaggio Children's Hospital
Benjamin Zendejas-Mummert - Member
Boston Children's Hospital